2011 Academy awards for scientific excellence announced

The winners of the Australian Academy of Science 2011 awards for scientific excellence have been announced. Honorific awards are presented to career researchers for life-long achievements and outstanding early-career researchers under the age of 40. In addition, the Academy gives awards for research support.

In announcing the medals and awards, Academy President Professor Suzanne Cory said:

'Each year, it is the Academy’s privilege to recognise excellence in diverse fields of science. Several of the awards celebrate career-long contributions by some of Australia’s most distinguished researchers, others draw attention to remarkable discoveries made by younger investigators. The Academy warmly congratulates each of these outstanding awardees.'

Congratulations to mathematician Prof. Colin Rogers, University of New South Wales who was awarded the Hannan Medal for research in applied mathematics and computation mathematics and to early-career researchers Dr Anthony Henderson, University of Sydney, who was awarded the inaugural Christopher Heyde Medal for research in pure mathematics and Dr Scott Sisson and Dr Mark Tanaka, University of New South Wales, who were awarded the Moran Medal for research in statistics.

Full list of awards.