AMSI Review

Call for submissions to the AMSI review

In 2010 AMSI will undergo a wide ranging external review, the review will form recommendations concerning the Institute for the consideration of the full and associate members, the Board, the lead agency and other stakeholders.

Terms of reference

The panel will undertake the review of the following:

  1. The role of AMSI as a facilitator of research interaction, both within the Australian Mathematical Sciences community (in academia and industry), and with other communities/sectors. This includes AMSI’s current and future roles as the national mathematical sciences research institute.
  2. The Institute’s outreach role in the Australian community and its role in all three education sectors: primary, secondary and tertiary.
  3. The role of AMSI as an advocate for the broader mathematical sciences community.
  4. The external funding of AMSI from all sources.
  5. The management of the Institute and its efficacy in delivery of the core business of AMSI.
  6. The performance of the Institute to date against the contractual requirements of the Joint Venture Agreement, funding agreements and consultancies.
  7. The legal status, governance and membership of the Institute. This includes the subscription model, its equity, transparency and structural implications.

Review panel

The panel for the AMSI review will comprise:

  • Dr Ron Sandland (Chair). Dr Sandland joined CSIRO’s Division of Mathematics and Statistics in 1969 and became chief of the Division in 1988. Under his leadership the division grew and went from being internally focused to customer orientated, increasing external revenues. In 1999 he was appointed Deputy Chief Executive of CSIRO. Dr Sandland received a PhD in Statistics from the University of New South Wales in 1980.
  • Prof. Arvind Gupta, University of British Columbia. Prof. Gupta is the Scientific Director and CEO of MITACS. He also chairs the MITACS Research Management Committee, and is a member of the MITACS Board of Directors and Executive Committee. Prior to joining MITACS, Dr. Gupta helped found the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences and the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery. Prof. Gupta obtained his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Toronto in 1991.
  • Prof. Gaven Martin, Massey University. Prof. Martin has been Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at Massey University since 2005, his main areas of interest are in Geometric Function Theory (Quasiconformal mappings and non-linear analysis) and Discrete Groups and Hyperbolic Geometry (low dimensional topology and geometry). He is currently Director of Massey’s New Zealand Institute for Advanced Studies and the Institute of Natural Sciences. He is the first mathematician to be granted a James Cook Research Fellowship, regarded as the top science and technology award.
  • Prof. Celia Hoyles, Insitiute of Education, University of London (by correspondence). Prof. Hoyles has been Professor of Mathematics Education at the Institute of Education, University of London since 1984, following teaching in London secondary schools. She has directed over 30 research and consultancy projects concerned with mathematics at all levels and in a variety of contexts and published widely in articles and books. Prof. Hoyles was awarded an OBE in the New Year’s Honours list 2004 for services to mathematics education and was chosen as the first recipient of the Hans Freudenthal medal, in recognition of her cumulative programme of research. In December 2004 she took up the position of the U.K. Government’s Chief Adviser for Mathematics (75% of her time), a position she held until November 2007. In June 2007, Celia was appointed as (part time) Director of the National Centre for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics


Submissions are now closed.

Enquires about the review process to Geoff Prince.

Consultation hearings

The panel is currently holding consultation hearings.

Group AMSI Member interviews will be held over the Access Grid:

  • Tuesday 5 October 2010, 15:00 - 16:30
  • Friday 8 October 2010, 14:00 - 15:00